It's possible to rename an area in Oak that has been synchronised from Entra ID (formerly Active Directory).
Firstly, you must turn off the synchronisation of user's office information from Entra ID. If you want to change the name of the area (ensuring first of all that there is no other area with the same name under that parent, as duplicates are not allowed), here's what you need to do:
Turn off the synchronisation of user office information. In Oak, go to Configure > Site Settings > OIS > Entra ID/Active Directory User & Group Synchronisation Settings > Untick Office. By unticking the office, this ensures that no further automated updates of the office information occur whilst you're making manual changes.
Change the name of the area in Oak, by simply clicking on the title of that area in the Manage Areas panel.
Change the name of the area for all of the listed members within Entra ID.
Once the area has been updated in Entra ID, turn on the office synchronisation.
Please note that if you change the office name in Active Directory to something unique without turning off Active Directory Synchronisation first, Oak will treat it as a new office and will create a new one!
Alternatively if the existing area is empty and you just plan to delete it, you could just move the members of this area to a new area by carrying out the following steps:
1. Change the name of the area for all of the associated members within Active Directory.
2. Go to Oak and check the members have moved from the old area to the new area using the area manager (Configure > Manage Areas).
3. Once you’re happy the membership information has changed, locate the original area that you no longer want in Oak and, if there are no members and no content associated with it, you will be able to delete it!