Before you start:
- You must be assigned the Area Manager security permission for the area you would like to delete. Where permissions have been assigned correctly, Site Administrators will be able to manage all areas.
- Before deleting an area, the area must:
✅ Have no areas beneath it
✅ All content must be removed
✅ Have no associated Hubs
✅ Have no assigned members (not relevant to folders)
Deleting an area
- Navigate to the Actions button and then Configure. Under Site Structure, select Manage Areas. Alternatively, go to the area you would like to manage and find the page options in the top-right corner (three vertical dots), followed by Manage Areas.
- Find and select the area you would like to remove. The Manage menu will open to the right hand side.
Click Delete within the menu. The area can only be deleted if all areas, content, hubs and members have been removed first.
If you can’t delete the area, the menu will explain what’s preventing you from doing so. To find what needs removing, click on the More info link.
You will be directed to the Housekeeping menu where you can view the content, areas and members that are preventing the deletion of the area. If you would like to export to a spreadsheet, click on the export icon in the top-right.
Once all content has been removed, select the Delete button and then Confirm with yes or no.
Warning: Once an area is deleted, it can not be restored. Please ensure you're certain before confirming the deletion.