If your organisation synchronises users and areas from Entra ID (formerly Active Directory), changes such as renaming an area or updating a username need to be made with synchronisation switched off. Once you've made your changes, you switch it back on.
This guide will walk you through switching Entra ID synchronisation off and back on safely.
This guide covers:
Before you start:
- Entra ID (Active Directory) synchronisation must be set up through OIS (Oak Integration Services) or SCIM.
- You must be assigned the System Manager permission at the main business level.
Switching synchronisation off
- Go to the Actions button > Configure > Site Settings > OIS. If OIS is installed, you can see whether Active Directory User & Group synchronisation is enabled.
- Select Settings. Under General Settings, slide Application Settings from enabled to disabled.
- Make your changes in Oak such as creating or renaming areas.
Switching synchronisation back on
- Make the same changes in Entra ID (Active Directory) first.
- Go to the Actions button > Configure > Site Settings > OIS.
- Select Settings. Under General Settings, slide Application Settings from disabled to enabled.
Considerations, tips & guidance
- Always update Entra ID before switching back on: if you've manually changed anything that's synchronised from Entra ID, you must make the same change in Entra ID before switching synchronisation back on. Otherwise your changes may be lost, or duplicate areas or users may be created, which can't be undone.