When your organisation restructures or roles and responsibilities change, you may need to take a security permission away from a person or user group.
This guide will walk you through removing a security permission in an area.
This guide covers:
Before you start:
- You need the Area Security Manager permission for the area.
Removing a security permission
- Go to the area, open the page options (3 vertical dots) in the top right and select Manage security/permissions.
-
If you're using Simplified Permissions, check you're in the right area and remove the user group assigned with permissions by clicking the red X.
- If you're using Advanced Permissions, check you're in the right area, then select a category from the list on the left to see the permissions within it.
- Hover over the person or user group you want to remove and select the red X.
Check out our guide What are the differences between Simplified and Advanced permissions?
Considerations, tips & guidance
- You can't lock yourself out: Oak won't let you completely remove yourself, or every group you belong to, from the Area Manager or Area Security Manager permissions. For example, if you're in two groups that both have the Area Manager permission, you can remove one group but not both.