When you create an area, only you as the manager of that area and the site administrator are granted security roles to access to it as standard which you can then remove. If this area is a department, or an office, then people who work in that location and in that department will be members of that area and these can also be removed.
When you create an area, access the security roles and choose who can view and contribute to that area.