In addition to 'active,' there are two further statuses a user can be set as when they are removed from Oak; inactive or deleted.
When a user is set to be ‘inactive’, they will be unable to login. However, their account will still be visible on the intranet and can be accessed via the manage users option. They will still appear as authors for the content they have published.
When a user is set to be ‘Deleted’ they are unable to login and they will not appear in searches within the intranet. They will still appear as authors for the content they have published (unless someone assigns a new author to that content), their profile will be inaccessible, and a message will be shown stating that the user has been removed if anyone views that profile.