Prevent accidental deletions and maintain a smooth workflow by utilising the Bin. The Bin acts as a location where you can soft delete content, with the option to restore it to the original or new location within 28 days of deletion.
This guide covers:
- Moving content to the Bin
- Accessing the Bin
- Restoring content
- Permanently deleting content from the Bin
Note: We want to prioritise the content that is most important to you and we'll be adding more content types soon. The Bin currently supports Blank Pages, News Articles, Blog Posts and Policies. Draft content is not included and if deleted, this is permanent.
Moving content to the Bin
To soft-delete a content item, go to the content and click the page options (three vertical dots in the top-right corner) and select Move to Bin. If a content type is currently not supported, you will instead see the option to Delete - this will permanently delete your content item.
You can also soft-delete content from the Content Applet. Select the three dots next to the item and find the Move to Bin option.
Note: Every user has a personal bin where content will be permanently deleted after 28 days. Any content you delete will be available to restore within your personal bin, including content that you have deleted on the behalf of another author.
Accessing the Bin
To access the Bin, navigate to your user profile in the top right-hand corner of the intranet. Next to your name and profile, click the drop-down to reveal the menu and select Bin. Here you can see your personal Bin, including any content you have previously moved there.
Restoring content
If you wish to restore content, go to the Bin and click the three dots to the right-hand side of your content item and select Restore.
A pop-up will then confirm the content item you are looking to restore, along with the area. By default, the content item will be restored back to the original area - select Restore to do this.
If you wish to restore the content item to an alternative area, Change Area and find your new area from the picker. Confirm the selection to view the updated area.
Once you're happy with the area, click Restore to confirm. A green confirmation banner will appear and the content item will now be removed from the Bin.
Permanently deleting content from the Bin
Any content moved to the Bin will be available for 28 days before being automatically deleted. If you wish to remove the content before the 28 days, select the three dots to the right-hand side of your content item and select Permanently Delete.
Confirm you wish to permanently delete the content. Please note this action cannot be undone. Once deleted, the item will be removed from the Bin and will no longer be accessible.
Alternatively, you have the option to empty all content items from the Bin by selecting Empty Bin in the top-right corner. Confirm you wish to empty the bin by selecting Delete all. Please note this action cannot be undone.