Whether you are exploring documents or catching up on the latest news, this guide walks you through the Content Applet and the various things you can do, helping you to master it yourself or share it with your team.
If you're an intranet manager and would like guidance on setting up the applet, check out our guide on How to set up the Content Applet.
This guide covers:
Reacting and commenting
Anywhere the thumbs up icon appears next to content, you can hover over the icon to reveal different reactions to select. To view who's reacted, click on the existing reactions to open up the list of people and their given reaction.
Select Comment to directly comment on the content without having to click into it first. Here you can also add emojis and GIFs.
Sharing content
You'll see the share icon below the content or by hovering over it. Select the icon to share a link to the content. Available options can vary, such as being able to share to Microsoft Teams or Oak Messenger, however you'll always be able to copy the link and share it externally. Permissions still apply, so people will only be able to see the content they have the permission to see.
Browsing documents
Documents are usually displayed in List View, creating an experience similar to Google Drive. Click into the different folders to browse or use the search box in the top-right.
Use the arrows next to Name and Date published to filter the content. The arrows at the bottom allow you to page through the content.
The navigation breadcrumb along the top can be used to navigate between the different areas.
To share an area, select on the area in the navigation breadcrumb to reveal the drop-down.
Content management
When browsing documents or news, there are some options that allow you to manage content directly from the applet.
No matter which layout is being used, the three vertical dots next to any content item provides the options.
Depending on your assigned permissions, you may be able to:
- Edit the content
- Duplicate the content
- Move to the bin/delete
Signing up to events
Events will display a Sign me up! button that when clicked will add you to the list of attendees. You'll then receive an email confirming your sign up.
If you'd like to add the event to your calendar, select the three vertical dots next to the event and choose from the available options.