Sometimes you need to share something important that your employees won’t miss. Notices let you put your message front and centre, ensuring it gets everyone’s attention.
This guide explores how to send a Notice and the different ways to highlight it. You can add an alert to a user’s notification queue, assign it as a task, feature it on the login screen, or send it by email. Notices can also require users to acknowledge or accept an announcement, track their responses, and send reminders until they’ve completed it.
This guide covers:
Before you start:
- You must be assigned as a System Manager or Notice Manager. Both permissions can be assigned from the top-business level.
Note: The Notice Manager role is site-wide and cannot be applied to a specific area. However, a user can only create a notice for the content that they have the permission to view.
Sending a Notice
-
There are two ways to start creating a notice. If you have just published content and wish to create a Notice, go to the top right-hand side of the page and select the three dots > Create notice. This will take you straight to the configuration screen.
-
Alternatively, configure a notice by going to the Action button > Manage > Configure a notice.
-
On the Notices page, you'll be able to view the previous notices that have been sent, including their expiry and progress. Select + New notice in the top-right corner.
-
Click on the Select some content button to open the object picker and browse for the content item you'd like to attach the notice to.
-
If required, change the title of the notice and add a description. Here you can also change the notice content.
-
Decide how important your notice will be; not that important, important, or mandatory.
If the Notices Applet has been added to a homepage, it will be colour-coded depending on urgency; amber for not that important and important, and red for mandatory.
-
Alternatively, select your own custom combination and tick the methods you'd like to use.
-
After selecting the importance, additional options will begin to appear below.
-
Select who needs to receive the notice and read the content - you can either choose everyone, or open the user picker to select specific people.
-
Specify when the notice should begin, either immediately, or from a date and time specified on the calendar.
-
Decide how often the selected users should be asked to read the content; just the once or on a recurring basis. Use the Recurrence Rule pop-up to choose the cadence.
-
If required, set an expiry date to make the notice inactive. Sometimes it's logical to set an expiry date, if the message is only relevant for a short period of time. To show it to new starters or people who have been on long-term leave, you can have it remain active indefinitely by not setting an expiry date. A notice can be made inactive at any time.
-
If the user needs to acknowledge the content and you'd like them to accept after reading, select Yes and choose what will happen if they disagree with the content. Options include emailing their manager or another user. In some cases, you may need to sign the user out of the intranet if they disagree with the content.
Alternatively, you can configure the notice so that nothing happens if they disagree. The results will be recorded from the Notices menu, which is great for tracking the acceptances of policies. -
There's the option to customise the message for users and provide additional information. Preview the notice at the bottom, including the Accept and Decline options.
-
Once you're happy with the way the notice has been configured, select OK at the bottom. You will then be directed to the active notice where you can track responses.
-
As people respond, the responses list will be updated. If you need to re-send the notice to those who have not responded, go to the Not Responded list and click on Reissue prompts. You'll be asked to confirm.
-
The results can be exported at any time, showing who has viewed the notice and who has agreed or disagreed (as long as the criteria has been set).
You'll be provided with options of downloading all iterations (all results), or individual iterations (daily breakdown of figures). This gives you visibility of how the notice is progressing over time.
-
From this page, you can make the notice inactive by toggling off enabled. This will keep all of the information associated with it.
Deleting the notice will remove it from the system, along with the data.
Resetting a notice will resend the original notification to all users, regardless of if they have viewed it in the past. This should only be done if you need to send the message to everyone again, for example if the message behind the notice has changed, or if you need everyone to re-accept.
The user experience
The user's experience will vary depending on the notice configuration.
If you have chosen to display the message at login, the content will be the first thing the user sees when accessing the site. The user will be unable to accept the notice until they have scrolled down to read the content.
If a notification has been sent, this can be found in the Oak side bar, or on the user's device if they have paired with the mobile app. Notifications will continue to be sent as reminders if they don't view and accept. Clicking on the notification will direct to the content for acknowledgement.
Sending the notice via email will trigger an email containing your description and link to the content.
Where a task has been sent, it will appear within the Tasks Applet on a homepage, or in
the Tasks drop-down in the Oak sidebar / profile.
If the Notices Applet has been added to a homepage, content will be stacked in the applet and colour-coded depending on urgency. Check out our guide on the Notices Applet for steps on adding it to a homepage.